August 09, 2017

Participants: Jon, Yael, Chaya Bluma, Nadine, Haim S, Noam, Shachar

First time visitor Shachar, welcome. This is the last meeting in my apt for a few weeks while I’m on vacation.

Candle Quest

Jon 52, Yael 48, Nadine 47

We played with the new prototype that Nadine wants to publish. I think the cards are too small.

Coloretto

Nadine 35, Jon 34, Yael 32

First play for Yael. Nadine doesn’t like the game.

Keyflower

Chaya Bluma 101, Nadine 80, Jon 70, Yael 56

First plays for Chaya Bluma and Yael, first play with more than two players for Nadine. Everyone enjoyed it, but it definitely hurts the brain of people who feel the need to calculate everything out. It’s just too complicated. You have to go on instinct at some point.

My instinct didn’t serve me well. In previous sessions of this game I did somewhat better. I kind of figured already in summer that things weren’t going well, but sometimes I make a comeback. Not enough here, partially because Chaya Bluma (and then the others) took away a few hexes I needed. Nadine seemed to be winning around summer time, but by the end of fall it looked like Chaya Bluma was in the lead. Winter only helped her solidify that lead. Yael was behind a lot come winter, and she caught up a bit but not enough.

Hansa Teutonica

Haim 97, Noam 70, Shachar 48

First plays for Noam and Shachar. I taught them the basics, and Haim filled in the rest. Somehow they let him get three of the four SW city scoring spots.

Leave a Reply

