May 10, 2017

Participants: Jon, David, Aaron, Nadine, Gili, Haim S, Daniel Oshrat

Welcome Oshrat, to whom I didn’t get to speak.

Magic: The Gathering

David+, Jon

David drafted a slew of powerful green creatures, while I got a lot of cards that, in combinations of 5 cards, could give one of my creatures a +1/+1 counter. I wasn’t expecting to win. David claimed that his deck wasn’t all that strong, because he didn’t have a lot of great cards to go with his smackdown creatures. Right.

I lost pretty quickly.

Taj Mahal

Aaron 40, Haim 40, Daniel 37, Gili 33, Oshrat 25

First play for everyone but Gili. There doesn’t seem to be any tiebreaker in the rules. I don’t know what everyone thought of it.

Trajan

David 151, Jon 130, Nadine 115

Second play for me and David. The first time I played we played a few major things wrong, so this was my first play with the correct rules. The tactics in this game are so complicated, that I still feel like I’m playing a near total tactical game, although flashes of strategy peek through here or there. This must be what I felt the first dozen times that I played Puerto Rico, but more so.

I saw David mastering a few of the tactics, including taking and scoring several 9 point trajans and winning every vote in the senate. He also pulled 4 matching cards in his first 6 card pulls, which was ridiculous. I expected him to win by around 60 points, but he stalled a bit in the last few rounds, allowing me to catch up to only 20 points behind. I made that 40 point gain in the last few rounds, pulling ahead of Nadine who until then had been doing about as well as I was.

Nadine took most of the wild tiles, and was first to move in the military. I tried the x2 bonuses again, and all of them paid off to some extent: I got to use some of them more than once, but this required me to focus on getting bonus action tiles, so it’s kind of a constricted game play that pays off a lot once every few rounds.

One thought on “May 10, 2017

  1. Hi, this is Daniel. Everyone loved Taj Mahal for being strategic but not overwhelming. There were a few quibbles about the interface – sometimes it was hard to tell the difference between colors (like yellow and white suits).

Leave a Reply

