April 26, 2017

Participants: Jon, Haim S, Gili, Noa, Aaron, Nadine, Elad

Welcome Haim S, First time attendee. Haim used to play war games back in the day, so he’s not exactly a new gamer.

Coloretto

Jon 30, Gili 23, Noa 22, Haim S 19, Elad 16, (Nadine, Aaron)

First play for all but me and Gili. Aaron and Nadine came in during the game and kibitzed. It’s not quite as much of a game as Parade or R-Eco, but it’s also quicker and lighter. I like it.

Hansa Teutonica

Jon 73, Aaron 62, Haim S 55

First play for Aaron and Haim, I had just received the game in the morning’s post. I scared everyone else away by saying the game was mechanical. Aaron and Haim both liked it a lot. The mechanics work well.

We played on the 2-3 player board, of course. Even with only one path to the “extra action” city, we didn’t find it too much of a crunch to get the actions. I got mine first, but I stayed at three actions until about halfway through the game. Aaron got his fourth action sooner than me, and also got to five. Both of them also developed more tracks than I did.

Instead, I took the first two spots in the points city while Aaron was taking his extra actions and other tracks. Then while he went for the better points in the point city (he got both of the other two spots), I spent my time building offices. He locked me out of making the route between the two edges, but I still built more than enough on the board to make up for my lost points from the tracks and his slightly better “point city” points.

It still bothers me that you HAVE to get to three actions, at least, and it’s something of an advantage to be the first to do so. Haim stayed at two actions for most of the game and didn’t do so well. It’s not so simple to start everyone off at three actions, but maybe add another route to the action city, or make it (like Antike) easier for all players after the first to get that first action track marker removed (2 instead of 3 disks).

Carson City

Elad 51, Nadine 42, Gili 37, Noa 30

First play for Elad and Noa. Elad did well, as you can see, ending the game with 12 guns. Nadine writes: We left the “gun space” circle at 3 guns [Ed: we often play it as 2 guns] and we used the gun character. Noa and Elad really liked the game. Gili lost a few duels by 1 gun.

High Society

Haim 18, Jon, Aaron (L)

Jon 17, Haim, Aaron (L)

First plays for both of them (Aaron may have played it once).

Parade

Jon 25, Haim 36, Aaron 37

First play for Haim.

Leave a Reply

