March 29, 2017

Participants: Jon, Daniel, Nadine, Gili

Magic: The Gathering

Daniel++, Jon

Daniel came early to play Magic when David couldn’t make it. We did the usual draft. I played BWg, Daniel played BRg, if I recall correctly. Anyway, I thought I drafted and built okay, with some nice flyers and black creature control. I think I lost the first game with incorrect play. I kept attacking with a flying lifelink, but I could have done a bit more blocking with it instead. Anyway, he had more and bigger creatures, and when he finally sent my lifelink flyer (with enchantment) back to my hand, it was over. In the second game, I simply drew only very high casting cost cards while he took me out with 2 and 3 cost creatures and a Puppet Strings.

Lord of the Rings: The Confrontation

Jon (white)+, Daniel (black)

First play for Daniel. Daniel had a few bad encounters, including his first flying nasgul attack being straight into Legolas’ bow. Eventually, Frodo could slip sideways and pass his remaining creature to make it into Mordor.

Troyes

Jon 54, Nadine 38, Gili 37

Gili suggested this for our little company. I’m not sure about the right strategy, but apparently whatever I did worked in this game. Gili’s bonus card was the one for defeating black cards, and she attacked them fiercely, which kind of gave it away. Mine was meeples on the cards, which Nadine guessed. Nadine’s was influence, which no one guessed, because she ended with 0 influence (as did Gili; I eked out 1 point from her card).

All of our dice rolls were pretty bad. I had a little synergy working with a white card that gave me high yellow count, and several yellow cards. Gili had synergy with the red dice, but not enough to make up for the poor dice rolls. Also, people fought me for the white dice less than usual.

Leave a Reply

