Kramim Con

Gili drove me, Eszter and her son Binyamin to the kibbutz Friday morning. We were able to get our rooms, and other people showed up to start playing. Gili did a great job organizing the con, she has relatives on the kibbutz, located near Beer Sheva, easier to get to than the Kinneret.

Mombasa

Gili and I joined Roi and someone else to play this. I had played with Roi and Eszter at Kinneretcon, first play for Gili and the other player, Roi is experienced and won again by around 80 points. I came in second again, but Gili was close. I did a bit better than last time, but still missed a lot. You need to make all the right moves, and many of them are competitive. I made a lot of travel moves at the end to help red, where I was ahead, but it didn’t net that much. Roi made it to the end or close to the end of two tracks. I didn’t do bookkeeping at all, and sold several cards for money without buying enough, so second to last round I only played three cards instead of the four I finally managed to qualify for on the jewel track. We all liked the game.

R-Eco

I played with Eszter and Binyamin right before Shabbat. Eszter liked the game but had never played, which amazed me, and Gili when she heard.

I also played with another group, including the guy who asked me to bring the game because he wanted to try it. They all liked it as a good strategic filler.

Dominion

We picked a set from the list in the original game, but then modified it, replacing cards we didn’t like. We all went through tons of cards, with Market and Village. Three players; I did well but lost by one point, 37 to 36.

Sushi Go

Eszter and I played a series of light games with others. I had heard of Sushi Go and how popular it is, and wanted to try it. This was the Sushi Go Party! expansion, which includes the base game, very nice art and components. It took us a while to get the correct cards. It’s a light drafting game with simple scoring. Seems too light as a game.

Kingdomino

Eszter also played. The only game of this type, tile placement, that I like. It’s quick with a small area, and very simple but still fun. I even won.

Panic Lab  

Eszter also played. A pretty party game too complicated for me.

Happy Salmon  

Eszter had wanted people to play this, it’s good for a group. It’s fun and fast, you try to get rid of your deck of cards by finding another player with the same card, you need to perform the card action to eliminate both your cards. Actions are fist bumping, high five, switch places and arm pats.

Fruit Mix

A set collection and memory game. Eszter also played, Binyamin won.

Secret Hitler

I didn’t want to play this because of the name and the deception mechanic, but agreed to play because Eszter really wanted to even thought it’s hard to believe she has a game with that name. Roi didn’t want to play either but joined to try it out. Others including Binyamin were also playing. There are two teams, Liberals and Fascists. The Fascists know who they are and who Hitler is, but Hitler doesn’t know who is on his team. If the Hitler player is voted in as Chancellor the Fascists win, which they did, partly because Eszter was one and is experienced at the game.

Puerto Rico

I taught this to a new player, one of the other players had played a few times. Then a fifth player joined us, my LHO, he said he usually plays 3 player, sometimes with 4. I wasn’t sure of some details, like colonist and VP counts for 5, and number of goods which as it turned out we were missing a corn. The rules weren’t in the box, so LHO looked up the information online, not restrained by Shabbat. I was first player, started with Setter corn, got 4 corns pretty early, and the boats seemed OK so I took a harbor first. With no trade goods or quarries, it took me a long time to get a Wharf, which I barely needed. One time I missed production due to 7 on the corn boat, and it had taken a long time to get enough colonists. My LHO had a coffee monopoly, I had coffee but didn’t build the building. He traded and built a lot, he ended the game with three large buildings, one unmanned. He said I’d win, I of course said he would, and I was right. He had 7 shipping points, I had 29, but no buildings or bonuses. He had 40, I had 37.

Saturday

Takenoto

We wanted a short light game, I played this last time, very cute. Eszter also played. I triggered the end game which lets the other players have one more turn. I had 28 points, I told Zoya that if she got 5 points she’d beat me. She managed to play a 5 point card, so we thought she won. But then someone pointed out that the end game card I received gave me an additional 2 points, so I won.

I played again later with Gili, we modified the rules a bit, but the kids are game players and liked it with the ganan and hapanda.

Voyages of Marco Polo

I played this at bgg.con, and taught it to people including Roi at Kinneretcon, but got a travel rule wrong because I never travel in the game. Gili and I have been playing online with David, and Gili wanted to play on the actual board to understand the game better, she said it helped. Yovel also played, his first time. I usually just do contracts, which doesn’t work against good players who travel and also do contracts. I had the character who doesn’t need to pay to place on top of previous players, Gili picked first and took the one who starts in Beijing, Yuval could jump from one oasis to another, and Roi had two travelers. I went third so had more money to compensate, and didn’t have to pay for placement. I had money, so I started by traveling instead of doing contracts. The second travel location bonus was an additional travel step which facilitated travel. So I got to the small city which had the three points per round bonus first round. I traveled a bit more and got good bonuses and placement options, including the dice for gold, which Yovel also had, but only used last round. I also did contracts, which were easier for me because of my character. Somehow I got far ahead, and ended up winning. For the first time I got points from my travel bonus cards, I had 3 cities, the other was close but too hard to get to. I had around 80 points, Gili and Roi around 50. Roi said he liked the game less this time, Gili said it helped her a lot with how it works. We all agreed that my character was much stronger than the others in the game, and possibly all of them.

Carto

I was waiting for this to be set up. During set up I started Gili and her niece and nephew on Takenodo, but didn’t finish explaining it because the Carto explanation started. As soon as I understood the main mechanic which sounded abstract and spatial, I left to play Takenoto with Gili and the kids.

Hawaii

Roi wanted a new game, so I taught this to him, Zoya and Yovel. After one round Shabbat was out, and even though people had planned on staying and playing afterwards, everyone ended up leaving. I haven’t played Hawaii in long time, Gili likes it borrowed it. We play sometimes on Yucata.

Eszter played real Ra, Isle of Skye and Blood Rage which she likes and won, and Terraforming Mars. She was ahead the whole game, and had a lot of money to buy cards, but no cards that would help her turned up. Someone else said there’s no control in the early rounds.

Binyamin played Isle of Skye, Cash ‘n’ Guns, Carto, Opera, Nadlan B’Katan (For Sale), Brick Party.

Gili played Ticket to Ride and Settlers with her relatives, Cash ‘n’ Guns, Nadlan B’Katan (For Sale).

The game Above and Below looks interesting, about growing plants, but you can also build buildings underground. In Brick Party pairs compete to build with actual Legos based on an image on a card. One partner builds without seeing the picture, the other gives the instructions. The image is just the outside shape without showing the bricks, I don’t think I could build from that, much less direct someone else.

We were helping a group playing Five Tribes, I discovered they had played completely wrong, they were only using tile actions if they put a camel on it. The guy who had told them didn’t want to believe me, he said that’s how he’s always played.

Leave a Reply

