December 7, 2016

Participants: Jon, Nati, Gili, Gilli E, Nadine, Nisan, Yael, David K, Elad, Aaron

Magic: The Gathering

David++, Jon

I have lost my winning streak.

Codenames

Jon + Nati, Gili + Yael

First plays for Nati and Yael.

Suburbia

Jon 119, Aaron 110, Yael 89

First plays for Aaron and Yael. I think they both enjoyed it.

Homesteaders

Gili 59, Nisan 52, Nati 50

First play for Nati. Nisan writes: In round 6, Gili spent $12 to get the church. Worth 10 points + 2 points per turn for 20 points. Nati lamented that he played “stupid”. Nisan lamented that his misinterpretation of the “bank” hampered his trading/purchasing ability in rounds 6-8 (he ended up “running off the rails” of the auction-passing track). All in all I think that everyone enjoyed the game and would play it again.

Trajan

Nadine 163, Gilli E 116, David K 100, Elad 96

First play for all but Nadine, who is lording it over the rest of us.

Nadine writes: First play for Gilli and David, second for Elad. Third for me, plus one completed online and two in progress. Everyone did cards except me, they were all collecting tons. David had wild cards, but even with that couldn’t get four the same. Gilli did get four of a kind, without wild cards. I had five cards, I got a pair early, then took the ship action when a card I wanted was available. So I played two pairs for ten points, partly to turn the ship over. In the last two turns of the game I won the Senate to get a bonus card for 9 points for a fire chip, and I managed to get a helmet chip which let me use one of my Demand wild cards for the fire chip bonus. I started with a bonus card 9 points for the helmet chip, so I got 18 from my only two bonus cards. The others had bonuses for cards, and got points from that, though David didn’t get many. He did a lot of building actions, most of them gave him additional actions, and they give points, he blocked me from getting a 5 point building I wanted, but he didn’t have a wild card so at the end only got 10 points for one set of three. I had two Building wild cards so got a pair for 20 points at the end. I completed a lot of 9 point Trajan tiles, and got 10 points twice from military. The others also did military, and competed for Senate. The earlier bonus cards didn’t help me because I wasn’t doing cards, and it’s hard to coordinate the cards you get with the bonuses, Gilli and Elad managed to. Basically it’s hard to plan as much as you need to, so tactically works pretty well, to my benefit. Plus luck with the Demand chips. If a second bread hadn’t come out at the end I would have had to use both my wilds, losing the 9 point bonus, and it hurt David and Gilli who were missing bread. Elad had all three permanent Demands, and Gilli also had a lot of chips.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

