October 26, 2016

Participants: EAST: Jon, David K, Nadine, David C, Nati, Francis, Aaron, Shneuer. WEST: Gili, Yael, Tal, Nimrod, Ido

Gili was in the mood for an Ameritrash game. Seeing as it looked like we were going to have good attendance, Gili opted to host the one, long game at her apt. That gave us, for the first time, a JSGC East (my apt) and a JSGC West (Gili’s apt).

JSGC WEST

Eldrich Horror

Gili, Yael, Ido, Tal, Nimrod

Gili writes that they only accomplished the first goal but they had fun.. Time ran out.

JSGC EAST

Magic: The Gathering

Jon++, David K+

David arrived early to play this with me. I continued my winning streak. I played BRW with some flying and creature control. Not a bad draft. David also played three colors. I’m pretty sure that each of us lost games to bad mana draws, but I think my deck was still a bit more agile than his.

Mr. Jack

Shneuer+, Aaron

New to both, Shneur was Mr. Jack.

Tichu

Jon/David, Nati/David C

I taught this to David C and Nati, and we played one hand for practice. David K called and made tichu and then I went out second. Hopefully we can try this again.

Amun-Re

David K 43, Nadine 29, Shneuer 29, Francis 21

First play for Shneuer and Francis. Nadine was slightly ahead after the first scoring. Francis had a lot of money (89) by the last round. Nadine and Shneuer were tied, even according to the two suggested tie-breakers.

Agricola

Jon 39, Nati 29, Aaron 25, David C 20

First play for everyone but me; actually second play for David C, but he had only played the introductory game, without minor improvements and professions (it’s much different with them). I explained the rules and the basic strategies, and invited them all to gang up on me, as much as possible.

Some of us had dramatically good professions or minor improvements, but even the less dramatic ones made a lot of difference. For instance, David had what looked like a powerful professions “you can plow whenever anyone else plows”, but I got more use out of my profession “+1 clay every time you take either wood or clay”. Nati took the burgeoning food spaces often, which is often a sign of poor production, but he he still did pretty well.

In the end, I was the only one with five family members, and I had – by far – the most bonus points in improvements. That was more than enough to make up for my lack of plowed fields and three empty farm spaces.

Nile

David K 5/3/2/1/1, Shneuer 3/2/2/1/1, Nadine 3/2/1

Nadine writes: I had really bad luck. I got the Plague of Locusts twice, once right after having played six castors. David traded strategically several times at the end and got what he needed.

Leave a Reply

