September 28, 2016

Participants: Jon, David K, Nadine, Gili, Aaron, Avi BB, Eszter, Nati, Yahel

Yahel, Avi BB, and Nati are all new attendees. Welcome!

Magic: The Gathering

David+, Jon

David came late, so we have to built from random cards instead of draft. I pulled 60 crappy cards for deck-buildings; even with a 40 card deck and playing with 3 colors, I still had to fill out my deck with a few useless cards just to reach the card counts. If I had some more time maybe I could have made a better deck with one of the other colors.

I didn’t have any mana or color problems, but David built up a nice army and all I could do was throw things in the way until I couldn’t do that any more. Actually, I was able to ping him several times with a flyer while I was delaying his army – if I had a few good damage or game ending cards hidden in my deck I might have been able to kill him. Eventually I went down.

Parade

Jon 6, Gili 8, Yahel 10, Avi BB 21, Nati 25

First plays for Yahel, Avi BB, and Nati. Nati managed to avoid taking any cards until the end, which is great if you can keep control, but otherwise is often a recipe for death.

Gold West

Gili 91, Estzer 88, Avi BB 86

First play for all, I think. Looks like it was a close game.

Red 7

Eszter +1, Gili +1

I didn’t see this one.

Tigris and Euphrates

Jon 9, Nati 8, Yahel 5

First play for Nati and Yahel. I rarely get to play this gem. It took some time for Nati and Yahel to get up to wrap their heads around the rules, which is usual. They actually did quite well, especially at the start. The first five treasures left the board fairly quickly.

I built an easily conquerable monument just to show them how to do it, and then several more monuments went up. I won and lost some external conflicts, and found myself with all of my leaders off the board. I put them back down and attempted to end the game more quickly, which is what happened.

They both loved it.

Slap Deck

Jon, Nati, Yahel

I taught them this little game of mine, and we played several games. Nati won the first game with an astounding score of 1 – 0 – 0. Everyone won at least one game. They liked this a lot, too.

Candle Quest

Nati+, Jon, Yahel

And I taught them this game, and they like it, too. We played the basic game.

Augustus

Avi BB 116, Estzer 22, Gili 19

I didn’t see this, but this seems like a less close game (unless Gili got the scores wrong).

Power Grid

David 17, Aaron 16, Nadine 15

First pay for Aaron. They played on the cheapest US locations. They played without our house rule, which made for some game chaos. Nevertheless, it seems that David had the game in hand by the last few rounds, at least.

Tichu

Jon/Aaron 575, David K/Nadine 525

First game, no tichu; we had -5 points, they had 105. Second game I called and made grand tichu (with dragon, phoenix, ace, and two jacks); I passed him the dog. We had 220 to their 180.

After the fourth game and two more tichus the score was them 405 to us 395. In one of these, David had a cross-bomb situation (4 card bomb crossing his straight card flush bomb). Fifth  game they were up 480 to our 420. In the last round, Aaron called and made his first (?) tichu; I actually had a bomb and the dog to help him.

Leave a Reply

