September 14, 2016

Participants: Jon, David K, Nadine, Gili, Haim, Aaron, Yael, Ido

Haim was a first time visitor

Princes of Florence

David 72, Nadine 68, Gili 63, Haim 58

First play for Haim. Nadine writes: We bid pretty low, nothing over 500. David got 3 jesters pretty early. Haim got his on the last round. David had a forest and one building, 7 professions including one recruiter. On the second round, Gili didn’t buy the last available profession of the 8 we allowed. Gili and Haim also skipped it on the next round leaving it for David, a good fit with his 3 jesters. I miscalculated but being able to get a second jester let me play a work I thought I couldn’t play. I thought I didn’t have enough actions to buy another building, but I miscounted and had two unexpected actions. I didn’t have space for the building and didn’t need it by then, so I got two bonuses. Which let me beat David by one point for the best WV at 29 on the last round.

Tikal

Jon 111, Aaron 97, Yael 84, Ido 74

First play for everyone except me. But I hadn’t played in a long time, and it turns out I had played several things wrong in every other time that I had played. One, I didn’t know that you can only cap two digs during the game. Two, I didn’t realize that you can only uncover a level if you have as many diggers equal to the level in the same hex. I also might still have the rule about the chief digger incorrect.

The correct rules make the treasures even more valuable, since it is harder to get points at the digs. Still, the game played pretty similarly to the way it always had, for me. I got the earliest treasures, and that helped my score, but others caught up.

Vegas Showdown

Nadine 62, David 60, Gili 58, Haim 47

First play for Haim. David had only played it a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

