September 07, 2016

Participants: Jon, Aaron, Yael, David Tzut, Yoshi

Last week I couldn’t host, so Gili came to the rescue. Gili, David K, Yael, and Ofek played Bora Bora: David 163, Yael 141, Gili 134, Ofek 100. I have no other info.

This week, David Tzur came back to playtest another game with us. And Yoshi is a new player, a gamer sent over by Gili. He just came back from the US (?) with some new games, but we didn’t play them. He, along with many others in our group, is more of a thematic game player, while i prefer straight Euros. Hopefully enough people will come each week so that we all get to play what we want.

Prototype

David Tzur, Yael, Aaron, and I played two rounds of a David’s prototype. It was fairly easy to see how the game went after one round; in the same category as Balderdash, The Game of Things, and other such games, with a twist to encourage creativity. Not my type of game, but I could see its appeal. I think he was disappointed when I stopped him early, but Yoshi had arrived and was waiting to play.

We briefly considered one of the games that Yoshi brought, but I had an opportunity to play games I loved that the more frequent attendees don’t always want to play.

Homesteaders

Jon 60, Aaron 56, Yoshi 55, Yael 54

First play for everyone else. I often win this, but this was very close. In fact at the end I briefly miscounted and thought that I had lost, but we recounted again.

I had little income for the first four rounds but got to three trade chips. One trade chip is not enough, two trade chips is usually ideal, and three is usually too many. But with excess trade chips, you can take a lot of debt and get whatever you want. I went up to 7 debt on turn 5 to take the Church. Meanwhile, I was producing a gold every turn, and eventually two gold per turn. I used them every round, but I had enough at the end of the game to cancel all but three of my debts.

Yoshi had massive income by round 5 – 11 dollars a round, and also the debt-canceller each round (Bank, I believe). He played rather conservatively, however. Aaron only had one trade chip coming in each round and struggled with that. Yael had the fewest buildings and a completed railroad track, and she had enough money and trade chips for 14 VP goods at the end of the game.

Tichu

Jon/Yoshi, Aaron/Yael

First play for Yael and Yoshi. We only played two rounds. Aaron called and made Tichu on the first round, but the score was 110 (them) to 90. The next round, we earned +115 to their -15.

Leave a Reply

