August 24, 2016

Participants: Jon, Gili, Ido, Netanel, Estzer

Gili hosted last week. They played Hawaii: David 147, Gili 109, Aharon 92, Nisan 71, Netanel 68. First play for Aharon (a new player), Nisan, and Netanel. They let David take 5 sword bonuses. Nisan aimed for a complete tiki/kahuna grid, but David’s well-planned row earned 30 points. Also, mid-game points, such as first and second place scoring each round were also worth a lot.

This week’s new player is Ido.

Glen More

Jon 51, Netanel 48, Gili 42, Ido 38

New to Netanel and Ido, Gili had played once (?) a long time ago. Netanel basically liked the game, but wasn’t happy that there was nothing to do on your turn, which could be a long time coming (especially when others take a while on their turns). He felt like he was losing, but he racked up a slew of points on his last turn, which netted him second place.

Ido took the tile that let him activate any one tile each round, and he did a lot of butchering. Still, he didn’t have enough men and production/money to do everything he wanted. I usually take a lot of early villages, but this time I played more balanced. I also almost never take distilleries, but I took one and used it to grand effect, especially since neither Ido nor Netanel had any barrels. The rest was just keeping a small edge in points. Gili and I ended with 15 tiles each to Netanel’s and Ido’s 12.

Notre Dame

Ido 64, Jon 60, Gili 45, Netanel 42, Estzer 42

First play for Netanel and Ido, and I think Estzer hadn’t played too many times. I usually go straight for 2 park cubes and victory point cubes, but Gili denied me the park cards early on and then the victory point cards later. I took early cubes and money, moving a cube over to Park at the end of round three. Everyone else also had 2 parks early on, but Gili lost hers at the end of round 5 or 6. Netanel gained 4 parks in round 7. Gili started with an early lead and some nice points, but then stalled mid-game when she lost her park bonus.

Gili and I can’t remember who did Notre Dame in phase 1 (which I ignored), but I managed to get there in the next two phases.

Since Gili denied me the victory point cards I wanted at the end, instead I created sections with three points each (park and hospital), which both prevented the rats from attacking me and also gave me 3 areas with 3 cubes each, for almost as many points. Unfortunately, Ido also had three areas with three cubes each, also was protected from rats, and also was earning a few more points than I was because of his double park bonus.

Gili is hosting next week, as well.

Leave a Reply

