July 6, 2016

Participants: Jon, David, Avi, Yedidya, Nadine, Dan, Netanel, Nisan

Dan is a gamer/designer from Boston who kindly brought me his game Producer, which we didn’t get a chance to play. I hope to get it to the table sometime in the next few weeks. Netanel is also a newcomer. Yedidya is a nephew (?) of David’s who had come once before.

Parade

Yedidya 20, David 21, Jon 24, Avi 47

First play for Yedidya, who won. David only took cards on his last two turns. Yedidya had the most cards, all worth 1 point each.

Five Tribes

Nadine 165, David 148, Netanel 128, Dan 120

First play for Dan and Netanel. They apparently played with rather good djinns. Nadine writes: Dan had the djinn that let him put the camel on spaces with meeples. I had 6 cards but paid a lot for them, didn’t take money, or pay for turn order. I had 9 yellow meeples and got the djinn that gives 3 points per yellow meeple. David took money a few times and he had a lot at the end and a set of resource cards. Netanel placed all of his camels except for one. Dan and Netanel liked the game.

Amyitis

Jon 57, Avi 54, Nisan 51, Yedidya 32

First play for all but me. We played with my rule that you can buy any action for 3 coins. Yedidya seemed to not really play the game: with few exceptions, he made one or two actions each turn and then just collected coins. At least he could use all his collected money on the last turn (owing to my rule), but it wasn’t nearly enough to catch up.

I usually go for third level in blue, but I usually come in second place, too, so I opted to only go for second level blue this time and instead start early on the reds. This is the first time that I ever collected all the red cards; Avi took one and Yedidya took one late in the game, but basically no one competed with me for them. So that was 31 points. I also eked out 3 tiles for the 5 point bonus.

Avi had the most tiles and the 10 point bonus. Nisan had third level in caravans, but neither any blue or red cards. Nisan said that it was ok, but not as good as Castles of Burgundy and so forth.

 

Leave a Reply

