June 30, 2016

Participants: Jon, David, Avi, Nadine, Nisan, Alan

We say good bye to Alan, who is moving to Petach Tikve and so won’t be around for the foreseeable future.

Love Letter

Nadine+, Avi

Nadine was left with the Princess.

David+, Avi+, Nadine

Lords of Waterdeep

Alan 145, Avi 128, Nisan 126

I usually play without the Mandatory Quests, because they are too powerful and too annoying. Nisan was used to that, so he was surprised when one was played on him, because he thought they were out of the game. They agreed to remove them at that point, I believe. Alan is not as opposed to them. Alan and Nisan kept giving each other intrigue card benefits.

Both Avi and Alan built buildings early; Nisan only built one in round 7. Alan completed 7 quests, Nisan 6, and Avi 5.

Nefarious

Nisan 20, Avi 19, Alan

Nisan had three minions on research and won on a round where both of the other players played research. The twists were Stolen Goods (other players lose $2 when you play an invention) and Perpetual Motion (play two actions each round).

Inca Empire

First play for David, second or third for Nadine, fourth or fifth for me. Nadine thinks she should be bad at the game, since it has routes, but the routes are not so much the point as is the optimizing from round to round. Strategy plays a part; not as much as tactics, but good strategy AND tactics is better.

I took a small early lead, so David played bad cards on me and good cards on him and Nadine, until and even after it was clear that Nadine was winning from the board position. Too late.

Two phases left until the end of the game, and Nadine was ahead 69 to me at 65, and David at 56. But she was already locked into more points per round than either of us and it wasn’t likely to change; perhaps I could have caught up a bit, but she was probably still going to win.

We abandoned the game because Nisan and Alan had left leaving Avi with nothing to do. Nadine: And Tichu is more fun.

Tichu

Avi/Nadine 1060, Jon/David 840

David and I apparently suck at getting the actual card points during the game, because even when we make Tichus we still end up with less points. On the first round, Avi called Tichu and then I did, and I made mine. Score: 90 us, 10 them. The next round we were even again, and we stayed even until the penultimate round, usually within 10-20 points of each other. They then both went out first to clinch the game.

Nadine: On the last round, David was down to three cards; Jon and I hadn’t played yet. Jon thought for a long time about calling Tichu and finally decided, rightly, not to. I thought about calling as I played my Dragon, but wasn’t going to because David’s three cards would be a threat to me whereas they wouldn’t have been to Jon, but Avi encouraged me so I did, fortunately. I had three pairs and my first bomb of the night; David played two Kings to beat all my pairs and would have gone out, but I bombed him and was able to go out. Jon ended up with the dog and a five.

I had only one bomb during the game (David had several), and my bomb was a straight card flush opposite my partner’s Tichu. I also had the Dog. And I still went out last.

Leave a Reply

