A lot of teaching

Attended: Nadine, Aaron, Schneur, Haim, David, Ben, Jon, Oshrat, Lior, Francis, Helen. Oshrat had been in touch with Gili, she brought Lior. Jon called at 8:45 and was surprised that we hadn’t started any games yet, so we waited for him for PR. Bon Voyage to Jon’s daughter, and Ben’s niece, Tal, who is off to a semester in Germany.

Love Letter

I taught Aaron and Schneur, Schneur won our first two games. Haim joined in, he had played before and did well. When David came I let him take my place because I wasn’t doing well, David and Aaron both won some rounds. They all liked playing.

Tzolk’in

Aaron 72, Ben 59, Haim 55

I taught this while we were waiting for more people to arrive, new to all three of them – Aaron had played once but didn’t remember too much. They really liked the game. Ben was behind but got a Monument giving him 22 points.

Settlers of Catan

Oshrat +, Lior, Francis, Helen

Then I taught Settlers, Oshrat had played before. Helen left early so Jon played for her for a few turns, but then left to play Tichu. They did well at catching onto how to play, and enjoyed the game. Thank you to the players who remembered to move my table back.

Puerto Rico

David 49, Schneur 47, Jon 43, Nadine 37

David taught this to Schneur while I was teaching Settlers, and we played a few practice rounds. Before we started I said Schneur as the new player should get corn, which led to a discussion of which starting positions are strongest, Jon said fourth then third, which were the positions David and Schneur played. Jon and David had Factories, but were each surprised when they were ready to build that the cost was 8, even though David had set it up that way. I made one bad mistake, not trading which would have let me buy a big building, and I didn’t play so well in general. David and Schneur had two large buildings, I had one. Jon took a Wharf instead of a large building, which seems to not have been worth it. When he was discussing that whether it was a good move or not depended on how long the game lasted, I didn’t realize that he knew he wasn’t going to get a large building. But he had 5 corn, and crafted and shipped at least 4 times. I was on his right, so barely got to ship anything from his crafts. It was fun to play, we haven’t played in person or online in ages because the site we played on crashed, and it’s not on Yucata.

Tichu

David/Nadine 1000+, Jon/Schneur 135+

We didn’t calculate the exact score on the last hand, David made a Tichu. First play for Schneur, who liked it and did well. We all had mainly bad hands, no grand tichus, one bomb. David called Tichu on the first hand and made it easily in two hands. I got the Phoenix a lot and always passed it to David, even when I had the Dragon. Except once, while trying to decide which to pass to David, I realized that I should maybe keep them both and call Tichu myself, so I passed him the Dog. My hand wasn’t that good otherwise, I didn’t really have entries, but I called Tichu because I had given him the Dog. I ended up making it somehow, Jon didn’t have a good hand to block with and kept letting me get rid of low cards. David and I were very lucky a few other times and both went out first, with bad or medium hands, but the opponents had worse hands. At one point David won a trick with a 3 over a 2. On the last hand Schneur bombed David’s straight after David had called Tichu, leaving David with one card, and Schneur with three. I was able to get the lead, feeling bad that I didn’t have the Dog. I played a low single card, but since it was passing through Schneur who played high, I didn’t expect it to work, but David had the Dragon. I don’t think I made any mistakes, it’s been a while. Of course luck helps.

Leave a Reply

