March 09, 2016

Participants: Jon, David, Nadine, Gili, Yovel, Assif

We played this week at Gili’s apt, and her daughter Assif joined us for one game. Yovel lives in Tekoa but doesn’t usually join us. This was his first time, I think.

But first I met David early and we played Magic.

Magic: The Gathering

Jon+, David+

I thought I drafted BRW, but in the end I played RWu; I had more B than U, but they were nothing special, while the few U I had were nice. I had a U sorcery that exiled any amount of my own creatures (1U each) in exchange for replacing them with 4/4 flyers. I jokingly said that I would play with the RR1 sorcery I had drafted earlier that gave me 3 1/1 goblins, but in the end that was exactly what I did!

But first I endured a quick smack-down from David in the first game. He played BG. Turn 3 he cast a 1/1 flyer with lifelink while I couldn’t find more than one mountain or any cards that didn’t have RR in their casting cost. Turn 4 he put 3 +1/+1 counters on it and I died shortly thereafter while he gained life. In the second game he tried something similar (no lifelink) but I had my 4/4 flyers out and he had to defend against me. He jacked up one creature with three spells to 9/10, but I did him some damage and then cast a sorcery that had a creature do damage to itself. We were both down to no creatures, but I was able to build right back up with enough to take him down.

Parade

Gili 8, Jon 11, Nadine 12, Yovel 31, Assif many

David sat out this filler. First play for Yovel and Assif. They both caught on quickly, but Yovel kept taking a few too many cards, letting Nadine stay at 0 for nearly the entire game. At the very end she had to take a 10. She was hoping to build up that card’s suit, but I also needed to do it, so she had to swallow 12 points; still not bad, but Gili managed to end with 4 cards in 2 suits.

Princes of Florence

David 70, Jon 57, Gili 56, Nadine 55, Yovel 46

First play for Yovel. David isn’t a fan of five-player games, but we chose a classic that we don’t play too often, so we all enjoyed it. We played with my change for five players: the professions are  pick 2 choose 1, and the last profession card cannot be bought but can be recruited. The intent is to not give player 2 a huge advantage in that she can get two profession cards while everyone else can only get one. But it only works if everyone (or everyone but player 2*) buys a profession card on the first round, which makes that round rather dull. I thought of a possibly better solution: same rules, but add that each player can only buy one profession card during the game. Eh, it might not be necessary.

In our game, I got an early cheap Recruiter (200 on turn 1) and Nadine took a 200 Prestige card on turn 1. Jester was 1000, Builder 7 or 800, and Yovel took an expensive forest. David amassed 2 Jesters and 3 Recruiters, which is insane, and explains his win. I had the other 2 Recruiters, 1 Jester, and 3 Forests which I took because it fulfilled the only Prestige card that was even possible that I took in round 4. Nadine also wanted the Forests, but not as much. She had some nice works and two Builders. Gili concentrated on Builders and bonus cards, as well, playing a 34 WV work in round 6. I ended up not being able to play my last work, which took me a long time to figure out in turn 6; this was partly because during rounds 3 to 5 I thought I needed the University for it but it turns out that I needed the Workshop. The writing is not that clear and I wasn’t wearing glasses, but I still should have known it (from the number, etc).

Slap Deck

Jon 152, David 139, Gili 112, Yovel 65, Nadine 21

I requested that we play this and taught it to Gili and Yovel, both of whom liked it. We played to 150 (which is currently the official rule for 5 players), which took 7 rounds. Gili started by going to -52. So, technically, she gained more points that I did on the subsequent rounds, with one round alone netting her 62 points (she fought fiercely over the aces, as did Yovel). David was the most in contention with me for most of the game, but he stalled after round 4. Nadine only scored points once, because she often waits too long to decide that she wants to slap. I was at 137 in the penultimate round, so I simply took the first 13+ point batch that I saw.

Leave a Reply

