February 03, 2016

Participants: Jon, Nadine, Nisan, Jonathan, Alan, Roman, David, Eszter, Gili, Francis, Binyamin

High Society

Nisan 20, Nadine 12, David 0, Jon -2, Jonathan X

First plays for all but me, third play for me. Nisan went a little crazy buying powerful cards, including two x2 multipliers, but Jonathan rescued him by spending even more. I ended up with the -5, a 4, and a x2, which did me no good.

Hanabi

Binyamin, Gili, Roman, Alan, Eszter

They started playing this but abandoned it to start longer games.

Cosmic Encounter

Jon (Seeker/Fungus) 5, Alan (Siren/Loser) 4, Binyamin (Void*/Mind) 3, Nadine (Philanthropist/Subversive) 3

First plays for Alan and Binyamin, and Nadine had not played too often. I also hadn’t played in a while, but I suggested strongly that we play this 4 player, which is best (3 and 5 are playable, but not ideal). I also played this, for the very first time, with the correct rule, which is that you can only attack a base of the player whose system you are attacking, and not any base in that system. It certainly speeds the game up, making it hard to get rid of foreign bases (unless you sacrifice a challenge to do so). But it also makes flares and powers that get rid of foreign bases more powerful.

We still played with many of my house rules: double powers, losing powers at 2/1 home bases, and others. We didn’t play with reverse cone, lucre, or moons. I strongly discouraged, but did not outlaw, purposely tanking your allies unless a specific card or power was designed for it.

It lasted about the right amount of time, and I think both Binyamin and Alan enjoyed it.

Princes of Florence

Jonathan 57, Nisan 54,Francis 46

Nisan writes: First play for Jonathan and Francis. Jonathan and Nisan had bidding war in last auction for a recruiting card. Jonathan went down two points to win the auction with bid of 1700 (Nisan had 1800, but passed and took jester). This allowed Jonathan to recruit from Francis (who’d played 7 works) and Jonathan played two works in the last turn for 37wv. In that last turn he advanced 27 prestige points (6card + 3best work inc) to win. I enjoy teaching that game to first timers and still having all be in competition by end of game.

Troyes

Roman 41, Eszter 37, Gili 35, David 25

Tichu

Jon/David+, Nadine/Binyamin

Binyamin didn’t really want to play this at the end, but Nadine and I did and David wouldn’t stick around for anything else. We forced him to play and Alan to learn (though he left after the first two hands).

Suffice to say that David and I toasted them. Binyamin started off losing a grand tichu (bid with the Phoenix, an A, and some high cards). Unfortunately, David passed him the dog and I sat after him to repeat the same things that happened last time we played: he had a high card and a low card, and I had the Dragon and many more things. The next hand David made a grand tichu (bid on the Dragon, Phoenix, 2 Aces and other high cards. He passed me the Dragon! The last card he played was the dog, hoping that I could go out second, which I did.

Leave a Reply

