October 07, 2015

Participants: Jon, David, Nadine, Nisan, Aaron, Binyamin G, Schneur, Roman, Alan

First time coming for Alan. He arrived while we were mid-game and had to wait a bit. Aaron brought Shneur. I can’t remember how Roman arrived, sorry (I didn’t get to talk to him much).

Magic: The Gathering

David +, Jon

David arrived early to draft. We played one game which he won; my win on sukkot was an aberration. On the last round, I had 9 life and left him with free passage to attack me with 2 creatures dealing 6 points, but he had cards to play to increase that damage by more than 3 additional points.

Tigris & Euphrates

Aaron  9 9 12 12, Jon  8 9 9 9, Nisan  6 7 9 17, Nadine 6 6 6 10

First play for Aaron, second or third for Nisan. I handed Aaron an early lead by losing an external conflict to him. I then regrouped by winning another external conflict, so, while I knew he was doing well, I thought I was close behind. Which was the case. Nisan build the first monument (out of four that got built) and ended with many blue. I took most of the treasures, although Nadine also tries for treasures. Everyone admired the game, but Aaron thought there might be too much luck.

Power Grid

David 17 17, Schneur 15 15 (85 cash), Binyamin G 15 15 (27 cash), Roman 14 14

First play for some people. I didn’t see how the game went.

No Thanks

Aaron 23, Alan 30, Jon 60, Nisan 63

First play for everyone but me. They all liked this little filler. I gave no strategy advice, but both Aaron and Nisan picked up the implications and strategies quickly (even if they didn’t always follow them).

Dominion / Seaside

Schneur 25, Aaron 24, Roman 24, Alan 10

First play for Alan, and his first game here (after No Thanks). The other three are Dominion sharks, so there you go. They played with around five Duration cards from Seaside.

Tichu

Jon/Binyamin G 1000, Nadine/David 900

Third play for Binyamin G. We played around 10 hands, and only had bombs in the third and second to last hands. David bid and made 2 grand tichus, I bid and made 1 grand tichu. Binyamin G bid and made his first 2 Tichus; on one of them. Nadine bid 2 and made 1 of them. On one of Binyamin G’s Tichus, I had 3 cards in hand: a pair of kings and a low card. Nadine played a low pair which Binyamin G couldn’t take, and had to pass on it to avoid going out first. Still a fine and fun game.

Leave a Reply

