Sukkot Games Day 5776

Participants: Assaf, Avi, Avraham, Ben, Binyamin R, David, Eszter, Grisha, Jon, Michael, Nadine, Nisan, Ofer, Rafi, Shalom, Tchelet, Yair, Zev

20150929_122525Thanks to everyone who came and brought snacks and games, and helped with the session report.

Best snack – A giant dark chocolate bar with almonds

Best traveler – Ofer, who drove in from Haifa

Most popular new game – Guildhall

Amun Re

20150929_161225Avi 49, Assaf 42, Yair 37, Binyamin R 32

Bridge

Jon, Avi, David, Assaf, Ben, Nadine

Jon played one hand of Bridge with Assaf and Avi; Ben bid and made 3 Diamonds. I wanted to play, but Jon kept telling me to stay in my Castles of Burgundy game and that I could play later. But David and Avi were going to be leaving soon, so after Jon got into another game I went over to play, mainly bidding, and letting dummy finish defending hands, and my partner Avi play an (overbid) hand.

Carson City

Ofer 42, Assaf 40, Nadine 38, Binyamin R 36, Eszter 28

New or almost new to Ofer and Assaf. Binyamin R lost two early duels due to terrible dice rolls, therefore having no buildings on his plots until the third round, but still managed to do well at scoring points. Assaf spent a lot of money at 10 to1 but still did well. He took the most plots, with 11, taking some randomly which only helped in end game and victory points, not in building income.

20150929_162251Castles of Burgundy

Shalom 191, Nadine 185, Avraham 179, Grisha 145

I taught this, new to Grisha and Avraham. In the second to last round, Shalom and Grisha needed to leave, and I started playing bridge but coming back for my moves. Avraham gamely took everyone’s turns, selecting their best moves. We used the standard boards. Shalom had a good animal section.

Dixit

20150929_132128Avraham 34, Grisha 25, David 24, Michael 23, Gili 22, Shalom 22

With two sets of expansions my sister brought me this summer, everyone enjoyed seeing new cards. Avi played while playing Hawaii, if he wasn’t available, I played for him, also while playing Hawaii. When Michael arrived we let him take over. A lot of singing clues, a fun and lively game, new to some including Michael.

Five Tribes

Nadine 166, Avraham 132, Shalom 115, Grisha 109

First play for all of them. They did well catching on, but didn’t always see the best moves. I collected yellows and cards, no one else had a set of more than 4, I had 7. I only got one jinn which I got for points, Shalom had 3. He wasn’t able to fully take advantage of his which had good synergy relating to assassinations, but he couldn’t assassinate every turn. Shalom and I had one camel left at the end. Avraham made good blue moves, getting around 24 twice. We mostly bid low.

Gloom

David -135, Gili -45, Grisha -40, Shalom -20

I don’t know if high negatives are good or bad.

Guildhall

Gili 24, Eszter 18, Ofer 16

Hawaii

Avi 120, Assaf 109, Nadine 91, Yair 81

I taught the game. Avi had 5 villages and scored 2 for spears, I had 9 fruits and both fruit bonuses, but only won the round points once, and didn’t have boats.

20150929_161039Lords of Waterdeep

David 128, Jon 117, Ben 116, Zev 115, Tchelet 113

Jon: First play for Zev and Tchelet, second for Ben I think. Very close, as you can see. Ben didn’t score any major quests, but he gained 28 points from completed quests at the end. David was second with 16, I had 12. David and I scored several nice points from buildings. Zev scored at least two of the 25 point quests.

Magic

Jon: David and I drafted but only played one game, which I won. Nisan and David, and Nisan and I, started drafting and making decks, but didn’t play.

20150929_152643Mincha

No problem getting a minyan, Yona and his friends were rehearsing for their second performance at the Amos Winery at the end of the week. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLE2738C53160F7E98

Notre Dame

Gili 65, David 47, Grisha 37

New to Grisha.

Princes Of Florence

Eliezer 74, Ben 68, Nisan 43

Nisan: I ran home to bring it and played with Ben and Eliezer. Tight game all the way for Ben and Eliezer, while I dropped out of contention by round 5, having overpaid too often at auction and not cashed in works for money. Ben and Elizer each played some 6 works trading profession cards back and forth and exhausting the recruiting cards at auction (I got one that was used successfully). For round 7 both Ben and Eliezer needed to play two works to win, but Ben had only one in his hand. Eliezer (who had two, already) outbid Ben for the last recruiting card to seal his victory. Though Ben played a 34 pt work and received best work bonus it wasn’t enough to catch Eliezer.

Suburbia

Jon 110, Eszter 89, Ofer 85, Binyamin R 69

Jon: I won. Eszter said she didn’t like it as much as the Castles of Mad King Ludwig and Ofer didn’t like it because it was too much numbers and not enough theme.

20150929_215729Tichu

Nisan/Eliezer 725, Ben/Jon 375

Jon: First play for all of them, although Nisan had heard the rules before. Ben and I started off with two successful hands, which increased Ben’s enjoyment, although he still felt there was too much luck (a typical and mostly accurate response by a new player). Nisan bid and made a grand Tichu on round 3, and then they both bid and made Tichus while Ben and I had mostly sucky hands. Many bombs flying around, though.

20150929_16102520150929_132109Tzolk’in

Gili 70, Eszter 58, Michael 50, Ofer 36

Earlier, Ben, Rafi, Tchelet and Zev played half a game after I got them started, it took them too long and they didn’t like it, the opposite of Eszter, Ofer, and Gili’s enthusiasm for it.

Year of the Dragon

Nadine 113, Gili 88, Avraham 82

We played with my new expansions from Jon’s Alea Treasure Chest that he finally went through. We used the Wall expansion, but modified to exclude any penalties. It helps the game a lot, with an additional action card with a choice of actions, providing more options which you want; especially helpful for new players. I used my princess and building strategy, I also had a double dragon, giving me 6 points per round pretty quickly, and later 9. I managed to keep a lot of people, relatively. Gili made a mistake early on and ended the game with no people or buildings – she didn’t get any rice the first famine. She got a double dragon first turn, and then successfully focused on the book strategy. She easily maintained first place on the turn order track, Avraham and I alternated second place a few times, but I otherwise I was last. But the last two rounds Gili lost even her book people, which did it. I also had buddhas.

Leave a Reply

