June 24, 2015

Participants: Jon, David

We have the summertime doldrums here: people busy, making trips, moving houses, etc. So very low attendance.

Magic: The Gathering

Jon+, David+

We drafted from the new card I got, cards which neither of us had ever seen, let alone played with. We pulled randomly, but we both ended up playing Green/Black. I also had White. The decks were pretty even, I guess. As usual I show a bit pf promise in the early game and then get stuck in the middle to end game. In the first game, I managed to sneak in the last points for the kill. In the second game, I didn’t have enough to stop him from overwhelming me.

We typically play a third game, but for some reason the decks and cards were underwhelming me and I was a bit bored with them. Anyway, that had already eaten up 2 and a 1/2 hours of our time.

Five Tribes

David 221 (200), Jon 193 (202)

David likes the game but thinks I have the edge tactically in games like this. I simply think less than he does; I pick a good move and then do it, without worrying if I can do better somewhere else. David tends to want to know that he is taking the best move possible.

David essentially went for yellow meeples and an early djinn that gave him bonus wild goods for each pair of slaves, so he took lots of goods and slaves. Meanwhile I dominated the board territory with all but two of the castles and both the 15 and 10 spaces. I had several djinns and a 7 card good set; which was not much compared to his 9 and 8 card sets.

On the very lat move, I passed the turns to him instead of spending 12, because I calculated that I could only get about 15 for my move. I neglected to note that it was a green meeple move that would have net me 21, not 15. More importantly, it was 21 points that David would not have gottten. If I had taken that move, I would have won 202 to 200. Instead, David took it and won by 38 points.

One thought on “June 24, 2015

  1. I think Jon is short-changing himself here. I agree that he spends much less time thinking out his moves and that therefore he doesn’t look at all the possibilities. But the point is that in this type of game, Jon’s “subconscious” somehow focuses his attention on the “good” possibilities. I.e. he has a gestalt view of the board that lets him automatically prune his search tree.

Leave a Reply

